top of page

The Race to the Crown

Updated: Apr 18, 2023

On April 17, 2023, one of the most significant global sporting events was back in action, the Boston Marathon. The city of Boston came together to remember and experience an array of emotions as this date marked the 10th anniversary of the Boston bombings. The United States will never forget this tragic event and will forever be “Boston Strong.”

What is the Boston Marathon – Wheelchair Division? Did you know that In 1975, The Boston Marathon was the first sporting event to include a wheelchair division? According to, the event made history in 2021 by providing a prize purse for athletes who finished in the upper echelon. The race is similar to the primary Boston Marathon race, but in this case, it’s completed by individuals racing in wheelchairs. 

The course starts in Hopkinton, MA, and concludes on Boylston Street in Boston, MA. As reported by, the top three men and women in the event will receive awards. When the event first occurred, the racing distance was 24.5 miles. However, in 1924, the length expanded to 26.2 miles.

How do you qualify for participation?

  • Racing wheelchairs must meet World Para Athletic guidelines.

  • An athlete must have specific impairments recognized by World Para Athletics.

  • You must be 18 years old to compete on race day. 

  • You must provide racing times you have completed indoors that meet qualifying standards.

2023 Winners

One of the biggest championships to win in sports is the Boston Marathon racing event. There is a vast amount of talented athletes racing for the coveted championship crown. On Monday, two athletes reached pinacol moments in their careers. Here are the winners:

  • Marcel Hug - Hug finished first to claim his sixth Boston Marathon championship crown with an unofficial record time of 1:17:06.

  • Susannah Scaroni - For the first time in her career, on Monday, Scaroni won her first Boston Marathon championship. She finished with an unofficial time of 1:41:45.


bottom of page